SWEAT / Negative Blast "Split" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty



SWEAT / Negative Blast "Split"

  • Sweat is composed of members from bands including Graf Orlock, Dangers, Ghostlimb, and Dogteeth, Sweat's first practice was in February 2019, with the first show taking place in December of the same year. Justin and Anthony were bandmates in Dangers, and Tuna and Anthony were bandmates for a brief moment in Dogteeth. Tuna filled in for Graf Orlock for a few shows, without any explanation to those attending, and it worked great. With all powers combined, a trio of best friends and rockers was formed.

    San Diego's Negative Blast is hardcore punk that is both unconcerned with convention and deeply reverent of the genre's roots. The members' musical pedigree runs the gamut from 2000s hardcore stalwarts Lewd Acts and Hour of the Wolf to innovative post-punk act [CON•TACT], with the addition of Mario Rubalcaba throwing Hot Snakes, Earthless, OFF!, and more into an already impressive list. Negative Blast are as precise as they are left of center. With a knack for mid-tempo dirge that evokes My War-era Black Flag or Pissed Jeans and a darkly atmospheric melodic sensibility that calls to mind contemporary acts such as Gel, Negative Blast are at once of the moment and outside of it entirely.

    Sweat recorded at Sunsick Studios by Alex Jacobelli and Akira Audio by Gabe Van. Negative Blast's songs engineered by Alex Jacobelli and Dale Holland at Singing Serpent Studios and Sunsick Studio in San Diego, CA. Mixed by Alex Jacobelli at Sunsick Studio.

    Mastered by Jack Shirley (Grammy Nominated and has worked on Deafheaven, Jeff Rosenstock, Loma Prieta, Jerome's Dream, etc.) at Atomic Garden Recording Studio.

    Track Listing:
    01. SWEAT - Regulations
    02. SWEAT - Closing
    03. Negative Blast - Original Spirit
    04. Negative Blast - Psychic Trash