Walter Schreifels "An Open Letter To The Scene" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Run For Cover


Walter Schreifels "An Open Letter To The Scene"


He may not be a mainstream mainstay, but mention the name Walter Schreifels to anyone even tangentially involved in the punk or hardcore scene and chances are youÍll be met with borderline reverence. From his tenure in legendary hardcore bands like Gorilla Biscuits and Youth Of Today to his work in the pioneering post-hardcore act Quicksand and cult favorites like Rival Schools, Schreifels has proved himself to be one of the most talented and diverse songwriters of his generation. Over two decades after GB released their landmark album Start Today, Schreifels transcended his hardcore roots and showed another side of his constantly shifting skin with his solo debut An Open Letter To The Scene.

From stripped-down acoustic meditations like the albumÍs title track to SchreifelsÍ psychedelic-tinged cover of Agnostic FrontÍs ñSocietyÍs Suckerî and an intricately arranged version of his CIV Classic ñDonÍt Gotta Prove It,î An Open Letter To The Scene is arguably the first project Schreifels has ever recorded that manages to incorporate all of his diverse influences and recontextualize them into a cohesive whole.

Track Listing:
01. Arthur Lee's Lullaby
02. She Is To Me
03. Society Suckers
04. Save The Saveables
05. Shootout
06. Don't Gotta Prove It
07. Wild Pandas
08. Requiem
09. Ballad Of Lil' Kim
10. Open Letter
11. When You Sleep

Bonus 7" Songs
01. Overjoyed
02. Lover's Theme