Nervous "Nervous" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty


Twelve Gauge


Nervous "Nervous"


From Oakland, California, Nervous consists of frontman Jake Spek (Loma Prieta, Lewd Acts) and drummer Jacob Harris (Big Kids, Acid Fast). Best friends and co-pilots of Oakland DIY venue The Hive, Spek and Harris have announced Nervous to be their new priority. This is no side project, it's a real band with its own sound.

There's something of a Nirvana vibe with Nervous - or, more accurately, the band is inspired by many of the same bands Kurt Cobain espoused: Wipers, Pixies, The Jesus Lizard. Spek and Harris take these inspirations and twist them into anxiety-ridden California punk anthems. Spek's unhinged vocals are an absolute standout, something like David Yow in a really fired-up mood. His lyrics address true everyday struggles of the broke, lazy, and intelligent, and honesty seeps through his every word. When Spek sings about being depressed, it's not depressing - on the contrary, he pulls you right in and makes you want to shout along, and you're left applauding him for having the courage to be so real. From the album's opening track, "Good Morning": "Absolutely no sense of urgency / Not going to work, that is a certainty / I don't want to hang out, that shit is boring / I got a cut on my leg that won't stop bleeding / I think that I'm decomposing".

Recorded and mixed by Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Loma Prieta) and mastered by Alan Douches (Converge and so many more), Nervous' self-titled debut sounds clear and rich, rock-solid and rocking. The tracklist is as follows: Track listing Good Morning Cog In The Machine Day Off Perfection Home Birthday Party Satire About A Vampire Vulture Hungry Can’t Feel A Thing.

Track Listing: 
01. Good Morning
02. Cog In The Machine
03. Day Off
04. Perfection
05. Home
06. Birthday Party
07. Satire About A Vampire
08. Vulture
09. Hungry
10. Can’t Feel A Thing