Nervous "Duration And Delusion" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty


Twelve Gauge


Nervous "Duration And Delusion"


New EP Duration and Delusion follows up the debut with more of what made that album great: minimal noise-punk jams seethe with feeling, existing in a space right between the raging and desperate and the totally stoned.

Frontman Jake Spek's anxiety-ridden rasp is the voice of a man carrying the weight of the world and trying to make sense of it all. Clean guitars strum urgently and break into surf rock tones as bare-bones drums and bass pound out tight Crass-like cadences. The band – Spek, drummer Jacob Harris, and bassist Conrad Nichols – name influences like The Melvins, Born Against, and the entire rosters of Ebullition and Dischord Records.

Spek says Duration and Delusion is a record about time: "It's about our understanding of time and how it controls us. How our understanding of it shapes how we approach everything. Time as a power structure and a tool used in the reproduction of capital. The limitations imposed by structures we ourselves have created and abide by. The police. The state. Capitalism. People taking the streets. And weed, of course. Kill the cop in your head."

Track Listing: 
01. The Future
02. Lapse
03. Breathing and Choking
04. The Break
05. Yearly
06. Nostalgia and Expiration