Groundwork "Today We Will Not Be Invisible nor Silent" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty



Groundwork "Today We Will Not Be Invisible nor Silent"


The Arizona desert has produced its fair share of notable underground music over the years, and one of its early hardcore offerings was the emotional and political charge of Groundwork. Rising from the dust in the first half of the1990's and imploding in only about four years, Groundwork left behind a series of vinyl releases and live performances which still retain an impact on heavy music today. Sharing the stage with bands like Unbroken, Rorschach, Swing Kids, Chokehold, Born Against, Outspoken, Downcast, 4 Walls Falling, Native Nod, and many more, their evolution in sound and approach culminated in their only full-length release in 1994. Today We Will Not Be Invisible Nor Silent is sometimes cited as a defining LP of that era in hardcore, despite the band remaining lesser known than many of its contemporaries. Sharing subtle melodic touches, bone-rattling heaviness, and an undercurrent of groove, the record uses quiet passes and wild crescendos to achieve a battering experience that leaves a lasting impression. It is a testament to everything the band stood for, explored, endured, and ultimately was destroyed by; an intense and emotional journey for a group of friends set to the soundtrack of catastrophe. Members went on to play in bands such as 400 Years and Absinthe.Β 

The recording was lovingly restored from the original reels and remixed by Steve Roche at Permanent Hearing Damage. It was then mastered for vinyl and digital by James Plotkin at Plotkinworks.

Track Listing:
01. A Prayer for the Dead
02. Question Me
03. Hungry
04. Willing Victim
05. Channel One
06. Token Man
07. Daily Bread
08. Birds of Passage
09. Epitaph
10. Control