Tenement "Bruised Music Vol. 1" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Grave Mistake


Tenement "Bruised Music Vol. 1"


TENEMENT began in 2006 with a series of loose demo recordings and singles that married the genres of "Pop" and "Punk" without being explicitly "Pop Punk" and to many, represented the power and urgency of Hardcore without actually conforming to the genre itself. These recordings have been compiled here on "Bruised Music Volume One," which covers Tenement's output on record between the years 2006 to 2009. The influence of 80's punk is strong in the bulk of the material on Bruised Music, likening the feeling of the Descendents or The Replacements. However, this comparison might seem lazy when you keep in mind that the members of Tenement had long schooled themselves on everything from The Beatles to Big Star, Sun Ra, Coltrane, Black Flag, Husker Du; obscure hardcore punk to Brill Building pop music and all points in between. The period of time represented in this collection is a period of growing pains that paved the way for them to become the band that they are today, and the band that they will be many years from now. Bruised Music Volume One isnÍt just for the super-fan looking for a peek into TenementÍs early years and the honing of their razor sharp song-craft, it also offers new listeners a great introduction to the bandÍs perfect blend of raw punk energy and undeniable pop hooks.

Bruised Music Volume One compiles a total of ten tracks, taken from the Tenement Sucks tape, Dead Broke and Dirt Cult Records mixtape compilations, split w/ Used Kids, split w/ Friendly Fire, False Teeth 7", and Icepick 7". All of the material has been remastered by Daniel Husayn at North London Bomb Factory for one cohesive and superb sounding anthology. The release also features an eight page booklet consisting of liner notes from the band, as well as an assortment of anecdotes and recollections from various friends, journalists, and musical peers reflecting on these formative years of Tenement's career.

Track Listing: 
01. Sitcom Moms
02. Spaghetti Midwestern
03. The Fire is Out
04. Summer Street
05. The Best and Worst of Times
06. Pauline
07. Icepick
08. Goodnight, Rosendale
09. Morning Mouth
10. Do You Think About Him?