True Widow "Self Titled" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

End Sounds


True Widow "Self Titled"

As Dan Phillips' previous band Slowride (moderately well known in punk and "emo" circles for their pummeling onslaught and lyrical wit) dissolved, the songwriter was slowly taking a different turn. He moved away from his native Texas to Massachusetts to be trained in the old ways of woodworking and for a while there was a question of if he would ever craft another tune. While the cold and solitude certainly had their effect they allowed him to reflect and turn inwards to build something new. Songs started to emerge, but they were not what was expected. The songs that would become the first True Widow material were extremely personal, heavy, melodic, and surprisingly not at breakneck speeds. They left room for the notes and melodies to breathe as the depth of the lyrics slowly seeped in over time. After a year or two Phillips returned to Dallas, Texas where True Widow first formed. The band which now also consists of co-vocalist and bassist Nicole Estill and drummer Timothy Starks were aiming to do something entirely different from their peers. What you have before you is the outcome of their work and their first album outing. It's something that may be hard to define and not all together familiar, but ultimately rewarding for those who take the journey alongside the haunting and morphine drip vocals.

Track Listing: 
01. AKA
02. Duelist
03. Minor It Down
04. Sunday Driver
05. Corpse Master
06. Flat Black
07. All You Need
08. Mesh Mask
09. Bleeder
10. KR