Youth Code / King Yosef "A Skeleton Key In The Doors Of Depression" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Youth Code


Youth Code / King Yosef "A Skeleton Key In The Doors Of Depression"

A record born purely from a desire to collaborate and mutual fandom - Youth Code and King Yosef came together to bring  " A Skeleton Key in the Doors of Depression" to the world. After a lot of talk of working with each other on songs for each other's records, the question was posed by Youth Code: “Why not just do an EP together?” The original idea was to just do 4 songs, yet after how fluid and quickly both projects meshed with each other musically, the only choice was to push forward to create an entire album.
This release sees a melding of multiple genres of music crushed together with force. Yosef's crushingly monstrous vocals and production woven perfectly throughout Youth Code's frantic and chaotic synthesis provide nothing short of an exhilarating ride through sound.

With all of the initial instrumentals and production were done remotely, Sara flew to Portland in September of 2020, when the whole state was on fire, and wrote, recorded and did some additional production to the record over the course of a week. The team tapped High on Fire's Matt Pike for a blistering solo, and Arthur Rizk for Mastering and in the end birthed 8 songs of electronic terror.

"A Skeleton Key in the Doors of Depression" is much more than a collaboration, it is a standing testament to the power of pulling from multiple disciplines in sound. It is the gas and match that enable the fire.
Track Listing:
01. Claw / Crawl
02. Burner
03. Looking Down
04. Head Underwater (feat. Matt Pike)
05. The World Stage
06. A Mother's Love
07. Death Safe
08. Finally Docked