Citizen "Everybody Is Going To Heaven" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Run For Cover


Citizen "Everybody Is Going To Heaven"

Almost two years to the date of the release of their breakthrough album, Citizen return with their highly anticipated follow-up full-length, Everybody is Going to Heaven. Haunting these ten songs is a foreboding, dark atmosphere masterfully crafted by producer Will Yip, and an immediate, intense energy is palpable from even the first grimy seconds of the opener, "Cement." As with every one of CitizenÍs releases, Mat KerekesÍ signature vocal delivery here is a trademark feature, demonstrating the emotional tension that boils over on this release. As cathartic as ever, he duels between a soft croon and a haunting scream, confronting his demons on tracks like "My Favorite Color" echoing the tormented refrain, "my heart still beats for nothing." And while most of the record is an intense and noisy onslaught, songs like "Heaviside" and "Yellow Love" act as armistices, each aching in reverb-drenched consonance. Everybody is Going to Heaven is a turning point for Citizen: once regarded as newcomers with undeniable potential, the band shows here that they have matured both abruptly and uniquely, with no end to their upward trajectory in sight.

Track Listing: 
01. Cement
02. Dive Into My Sun
03. Numb Yourself
04. Heaviside
05. My Favorite Color
06. Weave Me (Into Yr Sin)
07. Stain
08. Ten
09. Yellow Love
10. Ring of Chain