Holy Tongues "Weak People" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty



Holy Tongues "Weak People"


Baltimore, Maryland's HOLY TONGUES is comprised of three members of the legendary hardcore band, RUINER; a band that made a name in the '00s via two LPs on Bridge 9 Records.

On their debut LP, "Weak People", the trio _ guitarist/vocalist Dustin Thornton, bassist/vocalist Stephen Smeal, and drummer Joey Edwards _ evolve out of the hardcore zone of its previous band and into a realm of sledgehammer rhythms, churning low-end, and radiant textures. As the instrumentation veers between Jesus Lizard stomp and Quicksand drive, Thornton and Smeal share vocals _ jaded but still painfully earnest, they reflect on the past and assess the present through lyrics like: "I used to be a bright light / I used to shine the way / But I'm fading every day / I'm just crooked teeth and bad tattoos / That's all I'll ever be to you / And I feel so awkward in my skin / We all live in the shadows / Of the statues of our former selves."

At times melancholy, at times downright epic, there is a relentless forward motion underlying all of Weak People, implying loudly that nothing is permanent, that this a mere snapshot of one point in time. This is the sound of people, of a band, in transformation.

Weak People was produced by Kevin Bernsten (Full of Hell, Magrudergrind) and mastered by James Plotkin (Isis, Earth).

Track Listing:Β 
01. Pale Light
02. Filters
03. 92
04. Bright Light
05. Small Fires
06. Smoker
07. Follow
08. 1/10/82 - 8/8/12