Fotocrime "Always Hell" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Self Released


Fotocrime "Always Hell"

FOTOCRIME is the new musical endeavor by R.Pattern (aka Ryan Patterson, formerly of Coliseum). After over a decade as the singer-guitarist of post-hardcore trio Coliseum, Pattern forged ahead on his own with a new vision, sound, and moniker: Fotocrime. 

Crafted alongside longtime collaborator and producer J. Robbins at Robbins’ Magpie Cage Studio, Fotocrime's debut, Always Hell, is a menagerie of trenching riffs and synth-driven melodies, all preaching in a darkness that is both inescapable and spellbinding. At his most lyrically malevolent yet, Pattern pooled inspiration from cloak-and-dagger crime fiction, dark Rockabilly crooners, and Technicolor melodrama. With an arsenal of analog synths, drum machines and his signature guitar sounds, Pattern breathes sinister new life into Cold War paranoia, modern-day malaise and smoky noir.

The EP’s bewitching opener “Always Hell” introduces Fotocrime’s sonic tenets at full force— staunch, battle hymn drums, lush keyboards, driving bass, single-note guitar work, and Pattern’s unmistakable drawl. B-side “Plate Glass Eyes” is a cold-blooded pyre burning for a lost soul, while “Tectonic Shift” parlays John Carpenter creep into a gothic waltz.

Track listing:
01. Always Hell
02. Plate Glass Eyes
03. Tectonic Shift