Brutus "Burst" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Sargent House


Brutus "Burst"

Hailing from Leuven, Belgium, Brutus create a pummeling, meteor-shower of sound. Vocalist/drummer Stefanie Mannaerts mixes black-metal blast beats with math-rock flourishes whilst belting out the most impassioned vocals that shift from deceptively melodic to outright larynx-punishing in the blink of an eye. Meanwhile, guitarist Stijn Vanhoegaerden takes ethereal post-rock tones to hardcore punk levels of speed and energy alongside Peter Mulders' powerful sub-frequency shift. The three conspire to make a sound as monolithic and frantic as it is emotive. "For this record, I had to dig deep into hidden and guarded emotions," Stefanie reveals. "It's not so easy to sing about myself, so I used the third person. And it's also not easy to drum a blast-beat over a melodic vocal to capture some exact feelings. 'All Along' is for a loved one, a band, the friends around me that are actually able to stand me." Having gigged rigorously across Belgium, in April 2016 Brutus decamped to Vancouver, BC to record Burst. "We sent an email to Jesse Gander (Japandroids, White Lung), his reply with sushi emoji's was an instant ticket," Stefanie explains. "The time in Canada, living together and working in the studio was refreshing, inspiring, healing and confronting at the same time." Burst is the perfect title for this debut album, then. "It's the perfect title for me," Stefanie adds. "It's a ball of emotions, ready to burst with frustration and anger. But also with tons of energy, love... everything at once." Trouble comes in threes... and so does Brutus. Sargent House will release the band's debut album Burst in North America and the rest of the world in partnership with Hassle Records, the band's European label.

Track Listing: 
01. March
02. All Along 
03. Not Caring 
04. Justice De Julia II 
05. Drive 
06. Bird 
07. Crack / Waste 
08. Looking for Love on Devils Mountain 
09. Horde II 
10. Baby Seal 
11. Child