Secret Fun Club "Skull With Antlers" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Three One G


Secret Fun Club "Skull With Antlers"


San Diego’s Secret Fun Club began in earnest in 2000 as a collaboration among Sal Gallegos (Some Girls), Nathan Joyner (Some Girls, All Leather), and John Rieder. This early three-piece iteration of the band was a collective in need of Ritalin, and during these years, Secret Fun Club was conceived as a kind of repository for whatever idea straddled the line between brutal and silly. The mantra at the time was borrowed verbatim from the lyrics of post-hardcore greats Quicksand: Testing the ends of what they’ll put up with.
Seven years, two EPs and a split later (and suddenly a duo after the departure of Nathan), Sal and John began demoing songs throughout 2007-2008, finally recording what would become the Three One G LP Skull With Antlers during the first half of 2009. With drums that call to mind Bonham (if he had preferred meth to booze) playing sides of beef and bass tones that alternate between motorcycle rumble and insectoid modulation and filtering, Skull With Antlers is forty-five minutes of doomy frenetic noise with occasional forays into quiet minimalism and copy-and-paste sound sculpture. W.T. Nelson (Geronimo, Bastard Noise) shows up on a couple of tracks with his brood of Trogotronic outboard gear to contribute painful frequencies across the range of human hearing.

Track Listing:
01. Ozomotleycrudos
02. Jack White Power
03. Steppenwolfmotherlovebonethugsnharmony
04. James Brown Pride
05. Iced Earth Crisis
06. Jack Black Panther
07. Kathleen Turner Overdrive
08. Tito Puente: The Soundtrack to Child Rape
09. Ultimate Example of Alanis Morrisette Irony ... Ever
10. Karen O Suicide Hotline
11. Ghost of John Bonham's Mustache