See You Next Tuesday "Distractions" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Good Fight


See You Next Tuesday "Distractions"


When See You Next Tuesday went on hiatus in 2009, their intention of getting back together eventually diminished. With a steadier life outside being on the road, the band members continued on with their separate lives. Fast forward to 2015, the band received a festival offer in their home state of Michigan and decided to take the stage once again. With only playing a few one-off shows over the years, in late 2020, misfortune became the inspiration for guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Drew Slavik, and suddenly he and vocalist Chris Fox were writing another album. The result is Distractions, set for release on February 17, 2023, on the band’s new label home Good Fight Music.

Formed in 2004, See You Next Tuesday made their mark in the world of extreme metal with the release of their albums Parasite (2007) and Intervals (2008), both on Ferret Music. Pushing forth on controlled chaos, the band has been able to evolve since their initial output and Distractions finds them delving into a new, modern grindcore sound. The thirteen songs on the record are full of fast and heavy guitars accompanied by an invigorating vocal performance from Fox. The true standout is in the drum work, provided by Slavik, displaying a maniacally bold use of blast beats that perfectly intertwine with his homemade samples. Distractions was recorded at Slavik’s home studio where he also handled production and mixing, and was mastered by Josh Schroeder (Lorna Shore, In Hearts Wake).

Expanding on the writing and recording process, Slavik states:
“The writing process was amazing! I wrote in my home studio or in my head and recorded everything as it progressed. Being a mailman, I walk 8 miles a day, and I was able to listen and critique each song, every step of the way, pushing myself as a player, writer, and producer even further than ever before. My main goal musically was to write something different. I never really shot for the 'best' because that is so arbitrary, however, I strived to be unfamiliar in a sense, not just with the music, but the overall sound as well.”

While the music came naturally, writing the lyrics ended up being a more difficult process. Eventually turning into a cathartic experience, the tracks became personal yet still up for interpretation in a broader sense. Much of the material on Distractions focuses on struggles with mental health, while a few songs explore more sensual themes. Leaning into the euphemism of the band name, the opening track “How Sensitive” reclaims what some might deem as offensive and makes it just a word. The lead single “Hey Look, No Crying” fixates on the feeling of slowly moving towards your death, encompassing the sonic energy of descending into the afterlife. Microsongs like “Glad To Be Unhappy” and “Call Me Irresponsible” use synthesizers for more frantic moments, while “Day In The Life Of A Fool” feeds into that more structured mayhem. Following suit of closing with a slower song on the band’s previous releases, the record ends with “Strange Music”, a nearly eight-minute-long track fueled by doom.

Although Distractions started as a literal distraction for See You Next Tuesday, it quickly became what they hope is only the beginning of their next chapter.

Track Listing:
01. How Insensitive
02. What a Funny Girl You Used to Be
03. Hey Look, No Crying
04. Why Can't You Behave
05. Glad to Be Unhappy
06. I'll Never Be the Same
07. I'll Never Smile Again
08. Day in the Life of a Fool
09. Call Me Irresponsible
10. This Happy Madness
11. I Had the Craziest Dream
12. That's What God Looks Like to Me
13. Strange Music

The Deathwish Exclusive is limited to 200 copies on Black / Hot Pink / Highlighter Yellow vinyl