Surf Rock Is Dead "We Have No Friends?" - Deathwish Inc

New Orders will ship in 10-14 business days


Your Cart is Empty

The Native Sound


Surf Rock Is Dead "We Have No Friends?"


Hailing from Chicago and Melbourne, Australia respectively, Kevin Pariso and Joel Witenberg together make up the Brooklyn duo, Surf Rock is Dead. Embodying the beachiness of their namesake's genre through a new wave filter, the band have spent the last two years crafting an infectious brand of dream-pop in the vein of Diiv, Day Wave, and Beach Fossils.

“The phrase ‘we have no friends’ is a running joke and half-truth between the band.” Says Pariso about the namesake of the EP. “When we formed the project we would spend late weekend nights jamming and writing music instead of spending it out with friends. Putting time into a creative project definitely can hamper your social life but the idea is that the fruit it bears will be worth the sacrifices.”

Those sacrifices paid off when the band went to record, using music as a way to escape the day-to-day grind and hot NYC summers. Ultimately, the duo was able to build off each other from similar shared experiences to turn song and lyric ideas into the anthemic dream-pop of the five-song EP.

Track Listing: 
01. In Between
02. As If
03. Everything They Said
04. White Salsa
05. Fitting The Mold
06. Anymore
07. Zen A
08. Late Risers
09. Never Be the Same