Supermachiner "Rust" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty



Supermachiner "Rust"

Supermachiner began as a collection of four track recordings by J. Bannon (Converge) in 1994. The music was different than his known vocal work in Converge, having more in common with influences Swans, Bauhaus, and others. Continually evolving through home recordings. the project remained nameless for years. Along with the help of musician Ryan Parker (Daltonic, Black Spot, The Jaded Salingers), the project was brought back to life in the winter of 1998. With lyrical content built around the rise of technology and the death of the individual, the project took a conceptual turn. Eventually taking on the name "Supermachiner", a play on the term "Supermachinder", the compound word for Japanese Giant Robot Toys from the 1970's.  The two entered the studio with Kurt Ballou (Converge) in the winter of 1999. During these sessions, Ballou also contributed to the material. The finished album titled "Rise Of The Great Machine" was released by the defunct Undecided label in 2000 (now out of print). After the album release, future projects were planned but never materialized.

"Rust" features the "Rise of the Great Machine" album, as well as four track ghosts of forgotten songs, and other audio experiments. All of it showcases the artistic spirit that made Supermachiner a unique animal for the time. Foreshadowing the future marriage between the "post hardcore" and "shoe-gaze" genres that dominate today's avant garde/experimental music world.

Track Listing:
01. Rise Of The Great Machine
02. Flight Of Vultures
03. I Am Legend
04. Declaration One
05. Above You
06. The War We'll Never Win
07. Vicious Circles
08. By The Roadside
09. I Am Oblivion
10. Treading In The Wake Of It All
11. Below You
12. Bitter Cold
13. A New Day
14. A New Loss
15. Fireflies Light The Way
16. Remember My Name
17. A New Precipice Before Us
18. Declaration Two
19. Reign Of The Great Machine
20. Hearts Degrade / We Rust
21. Pick Up The Pieces (Driven Version)
22. Diamond Bullet
23. Declaration (Disrupted Version)
24. Slow Is The Pace of Burden
25. Grant Me The Strength
26. Our Ground Is Sour
27. Memoriale Rituum
28. Avalanche
29. Pick Up The Pieces (Broken Version)
30. End Of The Line