Shame "Songs Of Praise" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Dead Oceans


Shame "Songs Of Praise"


Music for the weak.

Comprised of vocalist Charlie Steen, guitarists Sean Coyle-Smith and Eddie Green, bassist Josh Finerty, and drummer Charlie Forbes, the London-based five-piece began as school boys. From the outset, Shame built the band up from a foundation of DIY ethos while citing Eddy Current Suppression Ring and The Fall among their biggest musical influences.

Utilizing both the grit and sincerity of that musical background, shame carved out a niche in the South London music scene and then barreled fearlessly into the angular, thrashing post-punk that would go on to make up Songs of Praise, their Dead Oceans debut. From “Gold Hole,” a tongue-in-cheek take-down of rock narcissism, to lead single “Concrete” detailing the overwhelming moment of realising a relationship is doomed, to the frustrated “Tasteless” taking aim at the monotony of people droning through their day-to-day, Songs of Praise never pauses to catch its breath.

Track Listing: 
01. Dust on Trial
02. Concrete 
03. One Rizla 
04. The Lick 
05. Tasteless 
06. Donk 
07. Gold Hole 
08. Friction 
09. Lampoon 
10. Angie