Krishna Das "Door Of Faith" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

End Hits


Krishna Das "Door Of Faith"


Layering traditional kirtan with instantly accessible melodies and modern instrumentation, Krishna Das has been called yoga’s “rock star.” With a remarkably soulful voice that touches the deepest chord in even the most casual listener, Krishna Das–known to friends, family, and fans as simply “KD”–has taken the call-and-response chanting out of yoga centers and into concert halls, becoming a worldwide icon and the best-selling western chant artist of all time. To date, KD has released 16 well received albums, including Live Ananda (released January 2012) that was nominated for a Grammy in the Best New Age album category.

KD spent the late ’60’s traveling across the country as a student of and later close friend Ram Dass, and in 1970, finally made the journey to India after previously leaving a Long Island rock band that eventually became Blue Öyster Cult. In India he met Ram Dass’ own beloved guru, Neem Karoli Baba, known to most as Maharaj-ji. Given the name Krishna Das, KD began to chant as part of following the path of Bhakti yoga, the yoga of devotion. After the passing of Maharaj-ji, he took solace in music, as well as finding peace and strength in his yoga chant practice including workshops with long-time friends and teachers of meditation practices Sharon Salzberg and Jack Kornfield.

Now, in 2022 and for the first time ever, two of Krishna Das’ albums will be available on vinyl in several limited colors exclusively on End Hits Records and Deathwish Inc.. Originally from 2003 and produced by the legendary Rick Rubin, known not only for his seminal rap and rock recordings, but also for his definitive work with Neil Diamond and Johnny Cash, the album "Door of Faith" represents KD’s sonorous voice and his harmonium, joined here and there by instrumental tracings—Western strings, horns, and keyboards. A departure from Krishna Das’s signature call-and-response-style chant this is a deeply moving collection of solo prayers—a duet with his daughter, Janaki, on “Mere Gurudev” is a most tender invocation. Krishna Das’ 14th album "Kirtan Wallah" from 2014 is a natural confluence of KD’s musical streams, drawing a heart-connection between Indian kirtan & Western rock, between the foothills of the Himalayas & Nashville.

Track Listing:
01. Puja
02. Sita’s Prayer / Hey Mata Durga
03. Mere Gurudev
04. Rudrashtakam (Shiva Stuti)
05. Jai Jagadisha Hare (Arti)
06. 4 Sri Hanuman Chaleesa / Gate of Sweet Nectar
07. God is Real / Hare Ram