Khanate "To Be Cruel" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Sacred Bones


Khanate "To Be Cruel"


The highly influential Khanate return with their first album in 14 years, developing their singular and signature precise, temporal abstract doom beyond all thresholds. Khanate are Stephen O'Malley (Sunn O)), KTL), James Plotkin (OLD, Scorn, Phantomsmasher), Alan Dubin (OLD, Gnaw) and Tim Wyskida (Blind Idiot God).

Unflinching and brutal, the seeds for To Be Cruel were planted in October 2017 when Tim and Stephen spent a week in the English countryside at Orgone Studio with Jamie Gomez Arrellano. James began working these sessions into overall suites of music, a process the band has classically used on all of their prior albums. By spring 2018 initial song arrangements wereΒ  proposed and over the latter half of the year bass, synth and vocal tracks were added. 2019 saw the completion of writing and recording at which point it was passed to Randall Dunn to mix, alongside the band, in 2020.

The three songs that comprise To Be Cruel are complex, powerful and multidimensional. The music is all-enveloping; dry, alive, rich, and blistering.

Track Listing:
01. Like a Poisoned Dog
02. It Wants To Fly
03. To Be Cruel

*Vinyl orders include a Khanate "To Be Cruel" Limited Edition Print:

  • Gloss Card Stock
  • Machine Numbered
  • Black Ink At The Back