Heavenly Blue “We Have The Answer” - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Secret Voice


Heavenly Blue “We Have The Answer”

  • Heavenly Blue are unwavering in their deep punk roots. The artists responsible for crafting a sound now over 25 years old are not only reemerging, but sharing the stage with influenced younger musicians who thought they would never get the opportunity. Heavenly Blue’s maximalist approach shows through their 7 member ensemble’s composition, their emotional sound and communal style of songwriting across miles and various locations captures the spirit that bands from their era and those past are championed on a philosophical level. In other words, Heavenly Blue are a modern update to an overlooked form, and the title of their debut LP, We Have The Answer, is an apt and promising description of the period in which the sound now finds itself.

    The Detroit, MI based septet consists of vocalists Juno Parsons and Mel Caren, guitarists Kris Lane, Maya Chun, and Mac Porter, and a rhythm section consisting of bassist Jon Riley and drummer Andrew Coughlin. From the end of Chun’s and Riley’s previous band Youth Novel, the pair enlisted a number of Michigan musicians of varying levels of experience, exchanging demos with each other over the course of a year. From there, Heavenly Blue toured with bands like Frail Body, Venus Twins, Blind Girls, and Touché Amoré. Through their connection to Touché Amoré’s vocalist Jeremy Bolm, the band produced their first track, “Certain Distance,” for a compilation on Bolm’s imprint Secret Voice Records. On Heavenly Blue’s collaborative spirit and how it has led them to this point, Riley asserts,

    “The title invokes an unquestionable certainty, yet without thinking about exactly who or what “we” is, you may miss the point. The process of making this record involved a deeply collaborative process where every single member of the group put their whole selves into the music. The result is a statement I feel is deeply personal of what I want out of a record. Something loud and blistering, but hopefully still visceral.”

    Heavenly Blue’s style is earmarked by screamo’s familiar dynamics of harmony and dissonance played both to complement and work against each other. For them, it’s about bringing screamo sensibilities to noise rock and post-hardcore. On We Have The Answer, they explore the traditional pairing of heavy/ugly and soft/pretty, but additionally approaches the concept’s inverse, playing melodies violently and fast complex passages softly. Heavenly Blue also mixes in hardcore influence with mid-song breakdowns as verses.

    We Have The Answer continually begs the same emotional analysis that aggressive music has demanded and rarely received for decades. Tracks like “We Have The Answer” and “Davos” carry the spirit of the band’s past while other tracks, like “Heat Death Parade” and “Pando” sit in the realm of Heavenly Blue’s noise rock contemporaries. Heavenly Blue demonstrates it can do a more traditional structure, with songs like album single “Static Voice Speaks To Static Me” and the pensive “…And Just Like That A Year Had Passed,” while the unexpectedly danceable yet deeply melodic “A Part Of Me, A Part Of You” all offer refreshing takes on the chorus-verse mode of songwriting, while also challenging listeners to contemplate their repurposing of otherwise straightforward rhythms.

    We Have The Answer’s release through Jeremy Bolm’s Secret Voice Records also highlights the intergenerational cooperation that has come to be one of the most exciting aspects of punk in the 2020’s. In its own way, it highlights the statement that Heavenly Blue are making with the title of their work. The sense of community within the artists involved suggests a shared idea of purpose that is not common enough in music. If you have to ask what “the answer” is, Heavenly Blue insists upon listening and attending a show near you. Look for the answer within. Hopefully the seed is sown and you’ll understand.

    Track Listing:
    01. Davos
    02. We Have The Answer
    03. Pando
    04. Glass So Clear
    05. Certain Distance
    06. Static Voice Speaks to Static Me
    07. ...And Like That, A Year Had Passed
    08. A Part Of Me, A Part Of You
    09. Looming
    10. Heat Death Parade
    11. All Of The Piece Break