Head Wound City "Self Titled" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Three One G


Head Wound City "Self Titled"


Head Wound City is undoubtedly a supergroup, and one that is not to be overlooked. If most people were to be asked what they thought of a band that was two parts The Locust, equal parts The Blood Brothers, and one part Yeah Yeah Yeahs, they would answer only with an intrigued but incredulous look.

Not surprisingly (if you are familiar with any of the members’ other bands), the music is a whirlwind of intensity, which is fitting given that it was written, recorded and produced in the span of only a week before being released by Three One G Records in 2005. All seven tracks are equal parts Blilie’s one of a kind, vicious vocals, Serbian’s rapid-fire, precision drumming mixed with Pearson’s hard-hitting bass lines, which mesh perfectly alongsides Votolato’s cacophonous guitar style in conjunction with Zinner’s playing (which takes on a harsher tone than we typically get to hear from his playing in the Yeah Yeah Yeahs). Clever and humorous song titles such as “I’m a Taxidermist - I’ll Stuff Anything” and “Street College” give way to lyrics that are full of curious imagery and bellicose attitude, emanating influence from each of the band’s members.

Track Listing:
01. Radical Friends
02. I’m a Taxidermist I’ll Stuff Anything
03. Prick Class
04. Street College
05. New Soak for Our Empty Pocket
06. Thrash Zoo
07. Michael J. Fux feat. Gnarls in Charge