Converge "The Dusk In Us Deluxe" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty



Converge "The Dusk In Us Deluxe"

  • Deluxe 2xLP
    * Gatefold jacket printed on holographic mirror board
    * 32 page, 12” x 12” booklet
    * Side C & D feature 5 tracks available for the first time on 12” vinyl

    CD Box Set
    * Limited to 1000 copies
    * Box printed on holographic mirror board
    * CD features a 32-page booklet and holographic mirror board jacket
    * Includes “Building The Beast” - a 44-page hardcover book featuring behind-the-scenes photos of "The Dusk In Us" recording session shot by Reid Haithcock

    The ninth full-length from the Boston-based heavy-music innovators--vocalist Jacob Bannon, guitarist Kurt Ballou, bassist Nate Newton, and drummer Ben Koller--The Dusk In Us proves to be both dark and hopeful, abrasive and melodic, devastating and powerfully cathartic.

    In recording The Dusk In Us, Converge once again worked in Ballou's renowned Godcity Studios in Salem, Massachusetts. Produced by the band and mixed by Ballou, the album matches its raw energy with a subculture-crossing inventiveness that's earned Converge longtime reverence within the punk, metal, and hardcore scenes. One of Converge's most dynamic and avant-garde albums to date, The Dusk In Us unfolds with an uncompromising honesty born from "writing about experiences in my life and working through the complexities of those things through song," as Bannon explains.

    On the album-opening "A Single Tear," pummeling drums and caustic riffs form the backdrop to strikingly vulnerable lyrics like "When I held you for the first time/I knew I had to survive." ("'A Single Tear' is about becoming a parent, and the perspective and strength it can give," Bannon notes.) With its abrasive guitar work and menacing undertones, "Under Duress" brings a tortured howl to lyrics channeling what Bannon describes as "my emotional reaction to the complex world in which we live." A frenzied blast of pure fury, "I Can Tell You About Pain" offers what NPR recently hailed as "hardcore-fueled extreme music that simultaneously elevates and destroys." And on the seven-minute-plus title track to The Dusk in Us, Converge deliver a slow-building, quietly haunting epic of ethereal beauty.

    Converge formed in Massachusetts in 1990, then made their debut with 1994's Halo in a Haystack. Soon regarded as pioneers within the aggressive music arena, the band had a major breakthrough with their landmark album Jane Doe--a 2001 release praised as "iconic" by the A.V. Club (who also noted that Jane Doe "reaches canonical status with every re-listen"). The Dusk In Us arrives as the follow-up to 2012's All We Love We Leave Behind, an album that Consequence Of Sound called "as skull-cleaving as it is beautiful" and that made its way onto Pitchfork's Best New Music list.

    While The Dusk In Us finds Converge defying boundaries and pushing into new sonic terrain, it's also a natural progression for a band that's long thrived on making music that both challenges and connects. "Our only goal is to create something that moves us and resonates with us emotionally," says Bannon. "For us, it's simply a new album about new chapters in our lives. We are a very 'human' band--always have been--and our songs are all rooted in our real-life experiences. The Dusk In Us is that new chapter, just as previous records were before that."

    Track Listing:
    01. Single Tear
    02. Eye Of The Quarrel
    03. Under Duress
    04. Arkhipov Calm
    05. I Can Tell You About Pain
    06. The Dusk In Us
    07. Wildlife
    08. Murk & Marrow
    09. Trigger
    10. Broken By Light
    11. Cannibals
    12. Thousands Of Miles Between Us
    13. Reptilian
    14. Permanent Blue
    15. Churches and Jails
    16. Melancholia
    17. Beautiful Ruin
    18. Eve