Constrict "No Eden" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty



Constrict "No Eden"


Formed in 2017 in Los Angeles, CONSTRICT is a metallic hardcore group of terrific power and formidable versatility. Featuring personnel from God’s Hate, Vamachara, and Forced Order (among others), CONSTRICT combines the core sonic brutality of European stalwarts like Kickback and Archangel, the rhythmic ferocity of Connecticut hardcore acts like Death Threat, and the antireligious death-fascination of 90s extreme metal in a manner unmatched and unimagined in the modern hardcore scene. First demonstrated on 2017’s self-released Blood is Sweeter From Enemies, CONSTRICT’s sound has only grown more aggressive and creative in the past three years, during which time the band has shared the stage with the likes of Candy, Trail of Lies, and Xibalba.

On March 20th, 2020, Flatspot Records will proudly issue the newest offering from CONSTRICT, a monstrous EP bluntly titled No Eden. Across No Eden’s six tracks, CONSTRICT scrape the flesh from the 1990s and 2000s most blasphemous musical scenes and regurgitate it in a truly deranged fashion; rife with Immolation-esque guitar harmonies and unapologetic guttural screeds against blind faith and complacency, the EP is a no-frills joyride through the filth, violence, and pain of human existence. CONSTRICT skillfully leap from the massive metallic riffage of the opening title track to powerful hardcore stomps like “Deceiver” and “Bliss of Power,” commanded capably by the lyrical prowess and vocal fury of frontman Anthonie Gonzalez. The EP closes with “Mantra,” which features an unforgettably adept blend of every heinous offering displayed on the previous five tracks and best represents the group’s mission statement: to provide genre-flouting heavy music free of the tired tropes and orthodoxies that dominate so much of today’s art and music.

Recorded and mixed at Catacomb Recording Company in Rowland Heights, California, the raw power of CONSTRICT’s performances are rendered all the more alarming by the adroit mastering of Brad Boatwright at Audiosiege in Portland, Oregon. With this newest batch of tracks, CONSTRICT solidify their place as hardcore’s most vicious and capable new horde. CONSTRICT will be taking the stage in Anaheim, CA at Chain Reaction alongside Sanction, Vamachara, and seeyouspacecowboy on February 28th, with plans to tour in the wake of No Eden’s release; be sure to catch them live in the flesh, and consider yourself lucky to bear witness to their unholy majesty.

Track Listing:
01. No Eden
02. Deceiver
03. Bleed For Me
04. Scourge
05. Bliss Of Power
06. Mantra