Chastity "Death Lust" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty

Captured Tracks


Chastity "Death Lust"


Chastity is a world of its own from the mind of Brandon Williams. Reflecting the working class background of Whitby, Ontario, Chastity’s songs are charged with the ethos of archetypal youth on the fringe. A project more aptly characterized by its intentions than specific sound or medium, Chastity stands to confront the struggles of those existing in the unseen, often silenced periphery. It is an artifact of youth culture constantly working to form community, bridging isolation with collectivity.

Visuals play a meaningful role in this world with Williams using his penchant for crafting consistently sleek, challenging imagery to personalize the narratives running throughout all of Chastity’s music — most discernibly, a call for the disruption of status quo.

It was clear from the release of Chastity’s first demos that this was not just “another punk band that can operate at only one speed.” Always concerned with the trending lack of accessibility and inclusivity in public spaces for the arts, the first Chastity show was held in Williams’ own bedroom where, packed wall-to-wall, the police were quickly called. But after the project’s second show supporting DC punk band Priests, Chastity was off to the races, sharing stages with the likes of Metz, Chelsea Wolfe and Fucked Up. All without a full length recording out.

Since signing with Brooklyn label Captured Tracks, Chastity has re-released those initial demos, along with 2 new singles and an EP, stoking the anticipation of the debut full length record, Death Lust.

The album begins on a tortured note with ‘Come' and builds toward the plummeting finale of ‘Chains’, evolving from start to finish in a crescendo of severity. Chastity explains, “Death Lust is about growing up death obsessed. It’s about the pain that it takes but the capacity that we have to overcome.”

Track Listing:
01. Come
02. Suffer
03. Scary
04. Children
05. Heaven Hell Anywhere Else
06. Negative With Reason To Be
07. Anoxia
08. Choke
09. Innocence
10. Chains