Give Up The Ghost "Background Music" - Deathwish Inc

Your Cart is Empty



Give Up The Ghost "Background Music"

American Nightmare's "Background Music" album was originally released by Equal Vision Records on June 12th, 2001. After the original release, American Nightmare were legally forced to change their name, and Give Up The Ghost was chosen. Produced by Tim Cossar and Dean Baltulonis, "Background Music" is anything but what the title implies, standing the test of time as a true hardcore classic. From the machine-gun like snare roll of opener "(we are)" into Wes Eisold's cry of "this is the soundtrack to saying goodbye…" the atmosphere around American Nightmare is electric. Setting a tone that rings through anthems like "am/pm", "hearts", and "your arsonist". These and the rest of the songs on the album blend a youthful violence and vulnerability into something rabid, hopelessly romantic, and refreshingly real. After almost ten years, "Background Music " continues to resonate as loudly and potently as ever.

Deathwish, under exclusive license from Equal Vision Records, are proud to announce the reissue of "Background Music" on vinyl format. The album has been remastered for vinyl by Paul Gold at Salt Mastering (Converge, Fucked Up, and more). This new version is offered in a gatefold jacket with revamped artwork and packaging. It also comes with an immediate MP3 Download of the release at checkout from the DW Estore. As with all new Deathwish vinyl releases, a Digital Download coupon is included inside the release, just in case you would like to Download at a later date.

Track Listing:
01. (We Are)
02. There Is A Black Hole In The Shadow Of The Pru
03. AM/PM
04. Shoplifting In A Ghost Town
05. I Saved Latin
06. Postmark My Compass
07. I.C. You Are Feeling Drake
08. Hearts
09. God Save The Queen
10. Your Arsonist
11. Farewell

First Press:
348 - Transparent Red (Band exclusive)
340 - Clear / Black mix (or Grey)
423 - Clear Yellow (Merch Now exclusive)
598 - White
1009 - 180 Gram Black
2159 - Opaque Green